NORTH WALES FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority held on Monday 20 June 2022 via Zoom. Meeting commenced at 9.30am.

PRESENT

Councillor	Representing
Jeff Evans	Anglesey County Council
Dylan Rees	Anglesey County Council
Ken Taylor	Anglesey County Council
Carol Beard	Conwy County Borough Council
Neil Coverley	Conwy County Borough Council
Chris Hughes	Conwy County Borough Council
Austin Roberts	Conwy County Borough Council
Nigel Smith	Conwy County Borough Council
Alan Hughes	Denbighshire County Council
Mark Young	Denbighshire County Council
Marion Bateman	Flintshire County Council
Paul Cunningham	Flintshire County Council
Adele Davies-Cooke	Flintshire County Council
Dale Selvester	Flintshire County Council
John Brynmor Hughes	Gwynedd Council
Gwynfor Owen	Gwynedd Council
Arwyn Herald Roberts	Gwynedd Council
Gareth A Roberts	Gwynedd Council
Rob Triggs	Gwynedd Council
Bryan Apsley	Wrexham County Borough Council
Beverley Parry-Jones	Wrexham County Borough Council
Rondo Roberts	Wrexham County Borough Council

Also present:

D Docx (Chief Fire Officer); G Owens (Clerk and Monitoring Officer); D Edwards (Treasurer); S Forshaw (Deputy Chief Fire Officer); R Fairhead, H MacArthur and S Millington (Assistant Chief Fire Officers); S Morris (Assistant Chief Officer); G Williams (Conwy County Borough Council); M Georgiou (Deputy Clerk and Monitoring Officer); T Williams (Corporate Communications Manager); A Davies (Member Liaison Officer).

APOLOGIES

Councillor	Representing	
Tina Claydon	Flintshire County Council	
Chrissy Gee	Flintshire County Council	
Marc Jones	Wrexham County Borough Council	
Paul Rogers	Wrexham County Borough Council	

- 1 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR 2022/23
- 1.1 The Clerk requested nominations for the office of Authority Chair for the 2022/23 municipal year.
- 1.2 Cllr P Cunningham proposed Cllr D W Rees and this was seconded by Cllr N Smith.
- 1.3 Cllr A Davies-Cooke proposed Cllr M Bateman and this was seconded by Cllr B Parry-Jones.
- 1.3 Having put these names to the vote, Cllr D W Rees received the most votes and it was therefore **RESOLVED that Cllr Dylan Wyn Rees be** elected as Chair of North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority for the 2022/23 municipal year.
- 2 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY CHAIR 2022/23
- 2.1 The Chair proceeded to seek nominations for the office of Authority Deputy Chair for the 2022/23 municipal year.
- 2.2 Cllr N Smith proposed Cllr P Cunningham and this was seconded by Cllr Gwynfor Owen.
- 2.3 Cllr A Davies-Cooke proposed Cllr M Bateman and this was seconded by Cllr B Parry-Jones.
- 2.3 Having put these names to the vote, Cllr P Cunningham received the most votes and it was therefore RESOLVED that Councillor Paul Cunningham be elected to serve as Deputy Chair of North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority for the 2022/23 municipal year.
- 3 APPOINTMENTS OF CHAIR AND DEPUTY CHAIR OF AUDIT COMMITTEE
- 3.1 The Clerk suggested that the appointments of Chair and Deputy Chair of Audit Committee be delegated to the first meeting of the Audit Committee.
- 3.4 RESOLVED to delegate authority to the Audit Committee to elect its Chair and Deputy Chair at the meeting on 29 July.
- 4 NOTICE OF URGENT MATTERS
- 4.1 It was confirmed that no items had been submitted to the Clerk for consideration.

- 5 MINUTES OF THE LAST ANNUAL MEETING
- 5.1 The minutes of the Fire and Rescue Authority Annual Meeting held on 21 June 2021 were submitted for approval.
- 5.2 No matters arose from the minutes submitted.
- 5.3 RESOLVED to approve the minutes as a true and correct record of proceedings.
- 6 MEMBERSHIP OF THE FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY
- 6.1 The report was presented to confirm the appointment of members of the Authority and the composition of the full Authority membership for 2022/23.
- 6.2 It was noted that nominations of Members from Denbighshire County Council remained outstanding and some councils had not confirmed their Executive Panel representation.
- 6.2 RESOLVED to re-submit report to the next meeting when all details will be known.
- 7 APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES AND EXTERNAL BODIES
- 7.1 The purpose of the report was to invite the Authority to appoint membership of internal and various external committees including the Local Government Association (LGA) and the Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA).
- 7.2 It was noted that not all local authorities had nominated two representatives to sit on the Executive Panel as yet.
- 7.3 **RESOLVED:**
 - (i) not to apply the principle of political balance to Committees;
 - (ii) membership of committees to be confirmed at the next meeting;
 - (iii) to appoint representatives to external bodies as set out below:

Chairs and Chiefs Ministerial Fire and	usually the Chair
Rescue Liaison Group	
Welsh Local Government Association	usually the Chair
(WLGA) Council	
WLGA Co-ordinating Committee	one representative on behalf
	of the three FRAs
WLGA Fire Services Panel	Chair and Deputy Chair
Local Government Association (LGA)	usually the Chair
LGA Fire Services Forum	one representative on behalf
	of the three FRAs
National Issues Committee	Chair and Deputy Chair

- 8 APPOINTMENTS TO STANDARDS COMMITTEE
- 8.1 Members were asked to appoint two Fire and Rescue Authority members to serve on the Standards Committee.
- 8.2 RESOLVED to appoint Councillors Marion Bateman and John Brynmor Hughes to serve on the Standards Committee until the next elections in 2027.
- 9 APPOINTMENTS TO LOCAL PENSION BOARD
- 9.1 Members were asked to appoint four Fire and Rescue Authority members to serve on the Local Pension Board.
- 9.2 It was noted that meetings are held three times a year but that there is an expectation that members will undertake training in the form of elearning modules in order to build up knowledge and understanding of the law relating to pensions and any other matters which are prescribed in regulation.

9.3 **RESOLVED**

- (i) to note the information in the report;
- (ii) to appoint Councillor Bryan Apsley, Councillor John Brynmor Hughes, the Clerk and the Treasurer to serve on the Local Pension Board until the next elections in 2027.
- 10 MEETING DATES 2022/23
- 10.1 The report was presented to inform Members of the dates for meetings in 2022/23.

10.2 **RESOLVED to**

(i) note the dates of all meetings as follows:

NWFRA meetings are scheduled as follows:

Monday 17 October 2022

Monday 16 January 2023

Monday 17 April 2023

Monday 17 July 2023 (annual meeting)

Monday 16 October 2023

Monday 22 January 2024

Monday 15 April 2024

Executive Panel and Audit Committee meetings

Audit Committee will be held at 9.30am and the Executive Panel at 2pm on the same day

Friday 29 July 2022

Monday 19 September 2022

Monday 12 December 2022

Monday 20 March 2023

Monday 19 June 2023

Monday 18 September 2023

Monday 18 December 2023

Monday 18 March 2024

11 MEMBERS' REMUNERATION SCHEME

- 11.1 The Clerk presented the report which informed Members about the Independent Remuneration Panel's Report 2022/23 which sets out changes to members remuneration with effect from 20 June 2022.
- 11.2 The annual report of the Independent Remuneration Panel (IRP) sets out changes to members remuneration and the report contained information on those changes that affect members of fire and rescue authorities.

11.3 **RESOLVED to**

- (i) note the IRPW's determinations in relation to members' allowances and remuneration as of 20 June 2022;
- (ii) give delegated authority to the Clerk to update the schedule of member remuneration within the Authority's constitution and to make any necessary amendments to the 2022/23 schedule from time to time during the municipal year, in order to reflect any changes in membership of the Authority, or as a result of any supplementary reports issued by the Independent Remuneration Panel for Wales.