

## AGENDA ITEM: 7

#### NORTH WALES FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY ANNUAL MEETING

# 20<sup>th</sup> June 2011

# MEMBERSHIP OF THE FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY 2011/12

### **Report by Colin Everett, Clerk to the Authority**

#### **Purpose of Report**

- 1 To note:
  - (i) the appointment of Members to the Authority by the constituent authorities who nominate annually;
  - (ii) the composition of the full Authority membership for 2011/12.

#### Background

- 2 Following the local authority elections in May 2008, constituent councils were invited to submit their appointments to serve as representatives on the Fire and Rescue Authority for the full four year term until the next round of the local authority elections in 2012. Conwy and Flintshire chose to submit appointments on an annual basis.
- 3 Conwy and Flintshire Councils have appointed their representatives for the 2011/12 municipal year. They are:

**Conwy** (5 members) Councillor Philip C Evans JP (Independent) Councillor William Knightly (Conservative) Councillor Bill Roberts (Plaid Cymru) Councillor Merfyn Thomas (Conservative) Councillor Adrian Tansley (Labour) **Flintshire** (6 members)

Councillor David Barratt (Labour) Councillor Brian Dunn (Independent) Councillor Grenville James (Liberal Democrat) Councillor Norma Jones (Conservative) Councillor Doreen Mackie (Independent) Councillor Ann Minshull (Labour)

4 Anglesey, Denbighshire, Gwynedd and Wrexham councils nominated their representatives for the full four year term in 2008. Their nominations are:

**Anglesey** (3 members) Councillor Lewis Davies (Plaid Cymru) Councillor Aled Morris Jones (Original Independents and Liberal Democrat) Councillor J V Owen (Original Independents)

#### Denbighshire (4 members)

Councillor Meirick Lloyd Davies (Plaid Cymru) Councillor Gwilym C Evans (Independent) Councillor Sharon Frobisher (Conservative) Councillor Glyn Williams (Labour)

Gwynedd (5 members)

Councillor Margaret Griffith (Plaid Cymru) Councillor Evie Morgan Jones (Plaid Cymru) Councillor W Tudor Owen (Plaid Cymru) Councillor Trevor Roberts (Labour) Councillor Gwilym O Williams (Independent)

5 However, Wrexham County Borough Council has 3 new representatives on the Authority. Cllr Beryl Blackmore (Wrexham) resigned from the Authority in February 2011, Cllr R Mark Davies has been appointed to the North Wales Police Authority and Cllr Terry Evans has also been replaced. Therefore Wrexham Council's new membership is as follows:

Wrexham (5 members) Councillor Ted George (Labour) Councillor Pat Jeffares (Wrexham Independents) Councillor David Kelly (Democratic Independents) Councillor J A Kelly, KSG (Liberal Democrat / Independent Alliance) Councillor J R Skelland (Conservative)

## Recommendations

- 6 To note:
  - (i) the appointment of members to the Authority by the constituent authorities who nominate annually; and
  - (ii) the composition of the full Authority membership for 2011/12;
  - (iii) on record, formal appreciation of the work of resigning and replaced Members.