

AGENDA ITEM: 8

NORTH WALES FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY ANNUAL MEETING

20th June 2011

APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES AND EXTERNAL BODIES

Report by Colin Everett, Clerk to the Authority

Purpose of Report

1 The purpose of this report is to invite the Authority to appoint membership of internal and various external committees including the Local Government Association (LGA) and the Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA).

Background

- 2 The Authority has a series of Committees and Working Groups to which appointments are made at the first or annual meeting. These are set out below.
- 3 The Authority in the past has determined not to apply political balance to the membership of its Committees under regulation 20 of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990. This issue was revisited during the constitutional review in mid 2008-09. There has been a prevailing consensus that political balance would not be beneficial as the current arrangements are both inclusive and avoid creating any 'political division' in the governance of an Authority.

4 The Authority is also represented on the following:

| Local Government Association (LGA) | usually the Chair |
|--|------------------------------|
| Welsh Local Government Association | usually the Chair |
| (WLGA) Council | |
| WLGA Fire Services Panel | Chair and Vice Chair |
| Chairs and Chiefs Ministerial Fire and | usually the Chair |
| Rescue Liaison Group | |
| LGA Fire Services Forum | one representative on behalf |
| | of the three FRAs |
| WLGA Co-ordinating Committee | one representative from the |
| | three FRAs |
| Firebrake Trustees Board | Chair |

Information

- 5 Appointments are to be made to the following Committees and to the following Working Groups:-
 - Executive Panel (14 members)
 - Audit Committee (14 members)
 - Standards Committee (2 members) (not required to be politically balanced under the Standards Committee (Wales) Regulations 2001)
 - Risk Reduction Plan (RRP) Working Group two members from each constituent Authority including the Chair and Vice-Chair.
- 6 Working groups are exempt from the rules of political balance.
- 7 The terms of reference of the above Committees and Working Groups where they exist are included in the Members' Handbook.
- 8 Given that the constituent authorities are required to apply the principle of political balance to their committees (other than in the case of cabinets), Authorities are encouraged to nominate members to the Authority on the basis of political balance, the Authority itself should consider annually whether it wishes to apply political balance noting the comments in 3 above. Should the Authority apply this principle, appointments to committees should

be made which ensure that the constituent authorities all have sufficient representation.

- 9 The membership of the Executive Panel consists of 14 members and comprises the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Authority and two members per constituent authority. This membership represents 50% of the Authority's membership. The role and membership of the Panel was expanded in the constitutional review in mid 2008-09.
- 10 The Authority agreed to introduce an Audit Committee to review, scrutinise and assure, independently of the Executive, the operational and financial performance of the organisation. The membership of the Committee is the remaining 50% of the membership who are not appointed to the Executive Panel.
- 11 Simon Fysh' term of office as an Independent Member comes to an ends in September 2011. Therefore, the Committee will need to recruit a new independent member and appoint a new Chair.

Recommendations

- 12 The Authority is recommended to:
 - (i) consider whether to apply the principle of political balance to Committees;
 - (ii) make appointments to Committees and Working Groups as set out in the report; and
 - (iii) appoint representatives to the following:

| Local Government Association (LGA) | usually the Chair |
|--|-----------------------|
| Welsh Local Government Association | usually the Chair |
| (WLGA) Council | |
| WLGA Fire Services Panel | Chair and Vice Chair |
| Chairs and Chiefs Ministerial Fire and | usually the Chair |
| Rescue Liaison Group | |
| LGA Fire Services Forum | one representative on |
| | behalf of the three |
| | FRAs |
| WLGA Co-ordinating Committee | one representative |
| | from the three FRAs |
| Firebrake Trustees | Chair |
| | from the three FRAs |

Appendix 1

EXECUTIVE PANEL

| Member | Constituent Authority |
|--|--|
| Cllr Sharon Frobisher (Chair) Cllr Meirick Lloyd Davies Cllr Gwilym C Evans Cllr Aled Morris Jones (Vice-Chair) Cllr Lewis W Davies Cllr J V Owen Cllr Bill Roberts Cllr Merfyn Thomas Cllr Merfyn Thomas Cllr Brian Dunn Cllr Grenville James Cllr Tudor Owen Cllr Trevor Roberts Cllr Pat Jeffares Cllr Pat Jeffares Cllr Rodney Skelland | Denbighshire Denbighshire Denbighshire Anglesey Anglesey Anglesey Conwy Conwy Flintshire Flintshire Gwynedd Gwynedd Wrexham Wrexham |
| AUDIT COMMITTEE | |
| Cllr Ted George (Chair) Cllr David Kelly Cllr James Kelly Cllr Philip C Evans Cllr W Knightly Cllr Adrian Tansley Cllr Adrian Tansley Cllr Glyn Williams Cllr David Barratt (Vice-Chair) Cllr Norma M Jones Cllr Norma M Jones Cllr Doreen Mackie Cllr Ann Minshull Cllr Ann Minshull Cllr Margaret Griffith Cllr Evie Morgan Jones Cllr Gwilym O Williams | Wrexham Wrexham Conwy Conwy Denbighshire Flintshire Flintshire Flintshire Flintshire Gwynedd Gwynedd Gwynedd |
| RRP WORKING GROUP | |
| Cllr Sharon Frobisher (Chair) Cllr Meirick Lloyd Davies Cllr Aled Morris Jones (Vice-Chair) Cllr J V Owen Cllr Bill Roberts Cllr Merfyn Thomas Cllr Merfyn Thomas Cllr Brian Dunn Cllr Grenville James Cllr Tudor Owen Cllr Trevor Roberts Cllr Ted George Cllr Pat Jeffares | Denbighshire Denbighshire Anglesey Anglesey Conwy Conwy Flintshire Flintshire Gwynedd Gwynedd Wrexham Wrexham |