## **NORTH WALES FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY**

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority held on Monday 20<sup>th</sup> June 2011 at Council Chamber, Ruthin. Meeting commenced at 10.30am.

#### **PRESENT**

Councillor	Representing
D Barratt	Flintshire County Council
B Dunn	Flintshire County Council
G C Evans	Denbighshire County Council
S Frobisher	Denbighshire County Council
E C George	Wrexham County Borough Council
M Griffith	Gwynedd Council
P Jeffares	Wrexham County Borough Council
A M Jones	Anglesey County Council
E M Jones	Gwynedd Council
N M Jones	Flintshire County Council
D Kelly	Wrexham County Borough Council
J A Kelly	Wrexham County Borough Council
D Mackie	Flintshire County Council
A Minshull	Flintshire County Council
J V Owen	Anglesey County Council
J R Skelland	Wrexham County Borough Council
G O Williams	Gwynedd Council

### Also present:

S A Smith (Chief Fire Officer and Chief Executive); C P Everett (Clerk and Monitoring Officer to the Authority); K W Finch (Treasurer to the Authority); D Docx (Deputy Chief Fire Officer); C Hanks, P Claydon and R Simmons (Assistant Chief Fire Officers); R Fairhead (Training and Development Manager); G W Griffiths (Senior Fire Safety Manager); G Brandrick (Senior Operations Manager); S Morris (Corporate Planning Manager); T Williams (Corporate Communications Manager); C Dingle (Finance Manager); S Forrest (Accountant, Treasurer's Department, Conwy County Borough Council); S Roberts (Head of Facilities Department); A Davies (Member Liaison Officer) and S Jones (Member Liaison Assistant).

### **APOLOGIES**

Councillor

Councillor	kepresening
L W Davies	Anglesey County Council
M LI Davies	Denbighshire County Council
P C Evans	Conwy County Borough Council
G James	Flintshire County Council
W Knightly	Conwy County Borough Council
T Roberts	Gwynedd Council
W P Roberts	Conwy County Borough Council
A Tansley	Conwy County Borough Council
M Thomas	Conwy County Borough Council

Poprosonting

- 1 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR 2011/12
- 1.1 The Clerk requested nominations for the office of Authority Chair for the 2011/12 municipal year. Councillor Sharon Frobisher was the sole nomination.
- 1.2 RESOLVED that Councillor Sharon Frobisher be elected as Chair of North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority for the 2011/12 municipal year.
- 2 APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIR 2011/12
- 2.1 The Chair proceeded to seek nominations for the office of Authority Vice-Chair for the 2011/12 municipal year. Councillor Aled Morris Jones was the sole nomination.
- 2.2 RESOLVED that Councillor Aled Morris Jones be elected to serve as Vice-Chair of North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority for the 2011/12 municipal year.

Cllr E C George asked whether the Authority should consider a rotation of the Chair and Vice-Chair's posts on a two-year basis. He explained that this had been discussed by the previous Authority and although it had not been agreed, Cllr George felt it would be a good way to encourage other Members to take up the roles in future. The Clerk explained that this could not be a formal arrangement with the current constitution of the Authority.

At this juncture, the Chair took the opportunity to welcome three new Councillors from Wrexham County Borough Council, D Kelly, J A Kelly and J R Skelland, onto the Authority.

- 3 NOTICE OF URGENT MATTERS
- 3.1 The Chair advised that no items had been submitted to the Clerk for consideration.
- 4 MINUTES OF THE LAST ANNUAL MEETING
- 4.1 The minutes of the Fire and Rescue Authority Annual Meeting held on 21st June 2010 were submitted for approval.
- 4.2 No matters arose from the minutes submitted.
- 4.3 RESOLVED to approve the minutes as a true and correct record of proceedings.
- 5 MEMBERSHIP OF THE FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY
- 5.1 The report was presented to confirm the appointment of members of the Authority and the composition of the full Authority membership for 2011/12.
- 5.2 **RESOLVED to note the:** 
  - (i) appointment of members to the Authority by the constituent authorities who nominate annually;
  - (ii) composition of the full Authority membership for 2011/12;
  - (iii) formal appreciation of the work of resigning and replaced Members.

- 6 APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES AND EXTERNAL BODIES
- 6.1 The purpose of the report was to invite the Authority to appoint membership of internal and various external committees including the Local Government Association (LGA) and the Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA).

#### 6.2 **RESOLVED**:

- (i) not to apply the principle of political balance to Committees;
- (ii) membership of committees to be as follows:

#### **Executive Panel**

Cllr Sharon Frobisher (Chair) Denbighshire Cllr Meirick Lloyd Davies Denbighshire Cllr Gwilym C Evans Denbighshire Cllr Aled Morris Jones (Vice-Chair) **Anglesey** Cllr Lewis W Davies Anglesey Cllr J V Owen Anglesey **Cllr Bill Roberts** Conwy Cllr Merfyn Thomas Conwy Cllr Brian Dunn **Flintshire** Cllr Grenville James Flintshire Cllr Tudor Owen Gwynedd **Cllr Trevor Roberts** Gwynedd **Cllr Pat Jeffares** Wrexham Cllr Rodney Skelland Wrexham

### **Audit Committee**

Cllr Ted George (Chair) Wrexham Cllr David Kelly Wrexham Cllr James Kelly Wrexham Cllr Philip C Evans Conwy Cllr W Knightly Conwy Cllr Adrian Tansley Conwy Cllr Glyn Williams Denbighshire Cllr David Barratt (Vice-Chair) **Flintshire** Cllr Norma M Jones **Flintshire** Cllr Doreen Mackie **Flintshire** Cllr Ann Minshull Flintshire Cllr Margaret Griffith Gwynedd Cllr Evie Morgan Jones Gwynedd Cllr Gwilym O Williams Gwynedd

## **RRP Working Group**

Cllr Sharon Frobisher (Chair) Denbighshire Denbighshire Cllr Meirick Lloyd Davies Cllr Aled Morris Jones (Vice-Chair) Anglesey Cllr J V Owen Anglesey **Cllr Bill Roberts** Conwy Cllr Merfyn Thomas Conwy **Flintshire** Cllr Brian Dunn Cllr Grenville James Flintshire

Cllr Tudor Owen Gwynedd
Cllr Trevor Roberts Gwynedd
Cllr Ted George Wrexham
Cllr Pat Jeffares Wrexham

# (iii) to appoint representatives to external bodies as set out below:

Local Government Association (LGA) Chair Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA) Chair

Council

WLGA Fire Services Panel Chair and Vice Chair

Chairs and Chiefs Ministerial Fire and Rescue

Chair

Liaison Group

LGA Fire Services Forum

WLGA Co-ordinating Committee

Chair
Firebrake Trustees

Chair

## 7 MEETING DATES 2011/12

7.1 The report was presented to inform Members of the dates for meetings in 2011/12.

### 7.2 **RESOLVED** to note the dates as follows:

# North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority meetings

Monday 17<sup>th</sup> October 2011 - Gwynedd Monday 19<sup>th</sup> December 2011 - Wrexham Monday 19<sup>th</sup> March 2012 – Anglesey

## **Executive Panel meetings**

Monday 18<sup>th</sup> July 2011 Monday 19<sup>th</sup> September 2011 Monday 21<sup>st</sup> November 2011 Monday 6<sup>th</sup> February 2012

### **Audit Committee meetings**

Monday 26<sup>th</sup> September 2011 Monday 30<sup>th</sup> January 2012