

AGENDA ITEM: 10

NORTH WALES FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY ANNUAL MEETING

15 June 2015

APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES AND EXTERNAL BODIES

Report by Colin Everett, Clerk to the Authority

Purpose of Report

The purpose of this report is to invite the Authority to appoint membership of internal and various external committees including the Local Government Association (LGA) and the Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA).

Background

- 2 The Authority has a series of committees to which appointments are made at the first or annual meeting. These are set out below.
- The Authority in the past has determined not to apply political balance to the membership of its committees under regulation 20 of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990. This issue was revisited during the constitutional review in mid 2008-09. There has been a prevailing consensus that political balance would not be beneficial as the current arrangements are both inclusive and avoid creating any 'political division' in the governance of the Authority.

4 The Authority is also represented on the following:

Chairs and Chiefs Ministerial Fire and	usually the Chair
Rescue Liaison Group	
Welsh Local Government Association	usually the Chair
(WLGA) Council	
WLGA Co-ordinating Committee	one representative on behalf
	of the three FRAs
WLGA Fire Services Panel	Chair and Deputy Chair
Local Government Association (LGA)	usually the Chair
LGA Fire Services Forum	one representative on behalf
	of the three FRAs
National Issues Committee	Chair and Deputy Chair

Information

- Appointments are to be made to the following committees as set out in appendix 1:-
 - Executive Panel (14 members)
 - Audit Committee (14 members)
- The terms of reference of the above committees are included in the Members' Handbook.
- Given that the constituent authorities are required to apply the principle of political balance to their committees (other than in the case of cabinets), authorities are encouraged to nominate members to this Authority on the basis of political balance. The Authority itself should consider annually whether it wishes to apply political balance noting the comments in 3 above. Should the Authority apply this principle, appointments to committees should be made which ensure that the constituent authorities all have sufficient representation. Working groups are exempt from the rules of political balance.

- The membership of the Executive Panel consists of 14 members and comprises the Chair and Deputy Chair of the Authority and two members per constituent authority. This membership represents 50% of the Authority's membership. The role and membership of the Panel was expanded in the constitutional review in mid 2008-09.
- The Authority agreed to introduce an Audit Committee to review, scrutinise and assure, independently of the Executive, the operational and financial performance of the organisation. The membership of the Committee is the remaining 50% of the membership who are not appointed to the Executive Panel.

Recommendations

- 10 The Authority is recommended to:
 - consider whether to apply the principle of political balance to committees;
 - (ii) make appointments to the Executive Panel and Audit committee as set out in the report; and
 - (iii) appoint representatives to the organisations and committees detailed in paragraph 4.

EXECUTIVE PANEL

Member	Constituent Authority
Chair	
Deputy Chair	
Lewis Davies	Anglesey County Council
Richard Owain Jones	Anglesey County Council
Roger Parry	Conwy County Borough Council
Adrian Tansley	Conwy County Borough Council
Richard Davies	Denbighshire County Council
Peter Owen	Denbighshire County Council
Brian Dunn	Flintshire County Council
Hilary McGuill	Flintshire County Council
William Roy Owen	Gwynedd Council
William Tudor Owen	Gwynedd Council
Robert J Dutton	Wrexham County Borough Council
Geoff Lowe	Wrexham County Borough Council

The Improvement Plan Working Group has the same membership as the Executive Panel

AUDIT COMMITTEE

Member	Constituent Authority
Jim Evans	Anglesey County Council
Delyth MacRae	Conwy County Borough Council
Dewi Miles	Conwy County Borough Council
David Simmons	Denbighshire County Council
Owen Thomas	Flintshire County Council
lan Dunbar	Flintshire County Council
Mike Reece	Flintshire County Council
Paul Shotton	Flintshire County Council
Chris Hughes	Gwynedd Council
Robert Wright	Gwynedd Council
Gethin Glyn Williams	Gwynedd Council
J Rodney Skelland	Wrexham County Borough Council
Anne Evans	Wrexham County Borough Council
David Taylor	Wrexham County Borough Council